African Union (AU)

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM)

The Commonwealth of Nations1

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

Group of Twenty (G-20)

Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC)2

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA)

South Pacific Regional Fisheries Management Organisation (SPRFMO)3

Southern Common Market (MERCOSUR)4

Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP)

Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP)

Tripartite Free Trade Area (TFTA)5

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)6

United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

World Bank

World Trade Organization (WTO)

1 The Commonwealth of Nations makes decisions according to egalitarian principles, but the United Kingdom, Australia, and New Zealand’s development aid have historically driven the priorities of the organization.

2 Within IATTC differences persist on an international level in maritime boundary, trade, and environment issues, and at the national level in allocations of tuna resources between fleets.

3 SPRFMO has had trouble in arriving at consensus due to some members’ intractable positions but the organization enacted voting procedures to overcome the differences.

4 MERCOSUR has had trouble in harmonizing its members’ economic policies.

5 The TFTA is composed of three regional economic communities, which suggests an additional layer of harmonization and decision-making.

6 The decision-making process is fairly straightforward, with issues and courses of action being worked on at an organizational level and then voted upon by all member states.



© Copyright 2015 Oceana