African Union (AU)1

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM)2

The Commonwealth of Nations3

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

Group of Twenty (G-20)4

Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC)

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA)5

South Pacific Regional Fisheries Management Organisation (SPRFMO)6

Southern Common Market (MERCOSUR)6

Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP)

Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP)

Tripartite Free Trade Area (TFTA)

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)7

United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

World Bank

World Trade Organization (WTO)

1 The AU is a complex bureaucracy, compounded with a high number of subcommittees and working groups, which creates confusion in determining where to initiate action.

2 The CARICOM secretariat is fairly small and nimble.

3 Shared and/or similar political systems of member states help streamline decision-making within the Commonwealth.

4 The G-20 does not have a forming treaty. Annual summit agendas are arranged beforehand by “sherpas” and affiliated finance ministers.

5 The FFA secretariat has a record of being efficient and expedient.

6 MERCOSUR has only a small number of members, but appears to have a large and complex bureaucracy.

7 UNEP has a simple process to propose actions and is relatively program-centric.



© Copyright 2015 Oceana